Speeed - Powertrip Pigs (Crash Music) - Back
Speeed features an all-star lineup including Aaron Randle (Annihilator) on vocals and harmony guitars; Jack Frost (Seven Witches, The Bronx Casket, Metalium) on lead, rhythm and slide guitars, back-up vocals; Ray Hartmann (Annihilator) on drums, and Bernie Altmann on bass. And no, that’s not a type-o, they have three E’s in the name Speeed. The music on “Powertrip Pigs” is a combination of styles from their other bands. It’s old-school sounding but includes variations on the balance between thrash, 80’s metal and power metal. I like the thrashy elements a great deal. Those riffs are deathly addicting and make you want to listen to those parts over and over. They could have even added a few more! Every track is respectable but I enjoyed “Dragon,” “Sin,” and “Speed” the most. To add to the caliper of this release there is a cover of “Ride Like The Wind”- Christopher Cross. I like how they did the cover; they made their song their own. This disc was never released in North America before now, so enjoy it. I may have had my expectations a little high for Speeed, but with their combination of talent, this is pretty much what you should expect.


Reviewed By: Jeffrey D. Adkins